

SOLING ONE METER NSW CHAMPIONSHIP 2015 16th-17th MAY 2015

2015 was Brisbane Water Radio Yacht Squadron's turn to host the Soling One Meter NSW Championship at Wamberal Lagoon with racing held over the weekend of 16th-17th May.

Saturday started with ominous looking weather which thankfully got better as the day progressed, until we got blown off the water early in the afternoon.

With a roll up of 16 entries and wind conditions which initially varied from light to none at all, it was decided that the races would be held as a single fleet. As it was, only 4 frustratingly slow races were completed before the lunch break. All races were, however, sailed in good humour and kept in control by PRO Phil Page and scorer Ivan Smith. A total of 7 races were held on the Saturday before the breeze, which had started to come in over the lunch break, strengthened to the point where it was not possible to continue.

Sunday certainly started out looking better without the threat of imminent rain. With 2 less competitors on Sunday, a further 9 races were held, again as a single fleet due to the similar nowind conditions at the start of the day's competition. The wind did however start to pick up later in the morning and the last few races were held in a relatively steady breeze.

This gave us a total of 16 races over both days with the the 3 worst scores of each competitor not counted in the results.

The 2015 NSW Championship was won by Graeme Smith from the Brisbane Water Radio Yacht Squadron, with Mathew Middleton from the Sydney Maritime Modelers Club in second place and Terry Howard from the Brisbane Water Radio Yacht Squadron in third place. Congratulations to all three for their sailing skill and getting the best out of the trying conditions.

Congratulations also to the rest of the competitors for keeping the place getters honest and making them work hard to acheive their results. Thanks go to the visiting skippers from SMMC and ECSA for their competition and their help in making it a couple of great days.

Many, many thanks to the ladies who looked after us so well with lunch on both days and also to those who bought along the goodies for us to eat.

Thanks must also go to Phil Page for his efforts as PRO and to Ivan Smith for doing the scoring. Ivan also doubled as PRO on Sunday when Phil was not able to attend. On Sunday, Ivan was also helped with the scoring by the ladies (what would we do without them).

Overall a succesful and enjoyable Soling One Meter Championship despite the variable weather conditions that mother nature threw at us. Full results & photos over.

Below are the results for all skippers and a few photos of of the event.



Skipper	Sail No	Race No - Points															Total	Desition	
		1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	11	12	13	14	15	16	Points	Position
Graeme Smith	204	1	8	8	1	1	1	1	3	1	11	1	1	1	1	2	1	16	1
Mathew Middleton	190	2	7	1	13	2	4	3	1	3	1	7	2	2	6	13	7	41	2
Terry Howard	174	3	3	4	2	3	7	7	2	2	3	5	4	3	5	3	4	41	3
Peter Lee	66	6	6	6	5	4	8	2	7	4	5	3	9	6	3	1	2	53	4
Roman Wenger	16	4	10	7	4	6	6	4	4	8	2	2	5	4	11	14	6	62	5
John o'Sullivan	196	17	2	5	17	9	9	5	6	6	13	13	6	5	7	8	3	82	6
Michael Harris	194	7	1	2	3	17	17	10	5	5	7	12	7	8	13	9	11	87	7
Julian Clutterbuck	118	8	5	4	6	8	5	9	10	7	6	9	12	10	10	7	13	94	8
lan Lyons	109	10	9	14	14	12	13	14	8	9	4	8	11	9	4	12	5	114	9
Jon Jackson	195	13	16	10	8	13	11	15	16	14	10	6	3	11	2	11	9	121	10
Michael Aitken	185	11	14	11	7	17	12	13	11	12	14	4	10	7	12	6	8	125	11
Kevin Humphrey	187	14	15	15	12	5	3	16	9	10	12	14	8	13	14	4	10	128	12
Maurie Jackson	53	11	13	13	15	10	15	11	15	11	8	10	13	12	8	5	14	139	13
Allan anderson	70	9	11	9	11	11	14	12	13	13	9	11	14	14	9	10	12	140	14
Colin Ferguson	92	5	12	16	10	7	2	8	14	17	17	17	17	17	17	17	17	159	15
Lee Grove	36	17	5	12	9	14	10	6	12	17	17	17	17	17	17	17	17	170	16

Note:- Where scores are equal, placing decided on countback of race results. - Indicates dropped scores.



More photos of the event are on the BWRYS website at:http://www.bwrys.com/soling-nsw-state-titles-2015.html