
5	Boats	approaching	the	“4	boat	length”	zone	to	round	the	mark	clockwise	
leaving	it	to	starboard	
Rule	18	for	mark	rounding	is	irrelevant	due	the	zone	not	having	been	reached	
by	any	boat.	Blue	gives	way	to	black,	orange	&	green	due	Rule	12	On	the	same	
tack	not	overlapped	due	being	astern.	Red	has	right	of	way	over	all	other	boats	
due	Rule	10	On		opposite	tacks	(ie	only	boat	on	starboard).	Black	has	rights	
over	orange	who	has	rights	over	green	due	Rule	11	On	the	same	tack	
overlapped	(ie	leeward	has	right	of	way)		



4	boats	have	reached	the	zone,	green	has	not.	
Black	now	has	mark	room	rights	over	red.	Red	over	orange.	Orange	over	
green.	
Mark	Room	Rule	18	is	irrelevant	between	blue	and	green.	According	to	18.1	
When	Rule	18	Applies	it	is	applicable	because	“Rule	18	applies	between	boats	
when	they	are	required	to	leave	a	mark	on	the	same	side	and	at	least	one	of	them	is	
in	the	zone”	However	there	is	nothing	to	be	done	in	fact	because	Rule	18.2	
Giving	Mark	Room	“18.2	(a)	When	boats	are	overlapped	the	outside	boat	shall	
give	the	inside	boat	mark-room,	unless	rule	18.2(b)	applies.”	Does	not	apply	due	
no	overlap	and	nor	does	18.2	(b)	have	any	application	to	this	particular	scenario	
where	a	boat	clear	astern	has	reached	the	zone	first	“18.2	(b)	If	boats	are	
overlapped	when	the	first	of	them	reaches	the	zone,	the	outside	boat	at	that	
moment	shall	thereafter	give	the	inside	boat	mark-room.	If	a	boat	is	clear	ahead	
when	she	reaches	the	zone,	the	boat	clear	astern	at	that	moment	shall	thereafter	
give	her	mark-room.”	



Green	gybes	to	starboard	and	then	enters	the	zone.	When	she	gybes	she	and	
blue	became	overlapped.	Definition	of	overlapped…	
	
“Clear	Astern	and	Clear	Ahead;	Overlap	One	boat	is	clear	astern	of	another	
when	her	hull	and	equipment	in	normal	position	are	behind	a	line	abeam	from	
the	aftermost	point	of	the	other	boat’s	hull	and	equipment	in	normal	position.	
The	other	boat	is	clear	ahead.	They	overlap	when	neither	is	clear	astern.	
However,	they	also	overlap	when	a	boat	between	them	overlaps	both.	These	
terms	always	apply	to	boats	on	the	same	tack.	They	apply	to	boats	on	opposite	
tacks	only	when	rule	18	applies	between	them	or	when	both	boats	are	sailing	
more	than	ninety	degrees	from	the	true	wind.”	
	
Blue	now	has	rights	over	green.	Why?	Because…	
	
Noting	the	quotes	of	rules	18.2(a)	&	(b)	on	the	previous	page,	it	is	fair	to	say	
normally	rule	18.2(b)	applies	but	in	this	scenario	it	did	not.	The	relevant	part	of	
this	complicated	rule	then	is	18.2(a)	“When	boats	are	overlapped	the	outside	
boat	shall	give	the	inside	boat	mark-room”	
	
Green	is	the	outside	boat.	Note:	If	green	had	entered	the	zone	while	clear	ahead	
(ie	before	she	gybed)	18.2(b)	would	have	applied	and	she	would	have	had	mark	
room.	Ie	specifically	“If	a	boat	is	clear	ahead	when	she	reaches	the	zone,	the	boat	
clear	astern	at	that	moment	shall	thereafter	give	her	mark-room”	


